The Office from the Past

This Kentucky attorney underwent a Back to the Past TWIDDER one early spring afternoon.  I like how understated he is; after realizing that something mind-bogglingly extraordinary had happened, he simply recorded that he was “dismayed.”  Should I ever experience a spacetime slip I hope I’m as cool as he was!  (See original posting at http://www.therealityfiles.com/walked-into-the-past/http://www.therealityfiles.com/walked-into-the-past/.)

On March 15, 2011 at 3:15 in the afternoon I got into my car at the back of my new law office to go pick up a grandchild at 3:25 for her piano practice. [After dropping her off, I decided to] go into my old law office where I and my late father, mother, brother, and others had our law practice (which building dates to the pre-civil war era) next door to check for damage, having read in the local paper about Mercer County, Kentucky residents being upset with a local factory doing some blasting in the late fall of 2010 that caused some damage [to structures].

I went in the back door and up the side stairs straight to my mother’s room, checking the waiting area on the way; NO damage.  Then my old room, no new damage (some wall damage from two years ago) then to my brother’s old room, no damage, finally the library and much new damage, termite-damage-wallpaper_801x547the ceiling having given way in one big place, wood exposed, but no sign of water. I then went downstairs, checked the kitchen, another secretary’s room, ok, then my father’s room (he practiced law 50 years), ok, back to the main secretary station, ok, and then re-entered the waiting room.

When I went back into the waiting room, there was NOW much wall damage to the wall next to my father’s room, plaster down on the floor and under the heating unit, wood exposed, very heavy wall damage, but no sign of water. I double-checked the room above, the library, room below, and, again, the waiting room.

I then picked up my granddaughter and took her home, then went home and called a neighbor who does house repairs. He came to my home and we went back to town. We went in the old law office, repeated a survey of the rooms, in the same order [as earlier in the afternoon], and when we got to that last room—the waiting room—there was now, once again, NO damage at all. I was dismayed!

I must have walked into the past, seeing wall damage as it existed circa 1969 when we had to clean it all up and redo all the walls; same old vetch-wallpapered walls that came down exposing the wood behind, cracked plaster down on the floor everywhere.

About aloholmes

We live in a wondrous universe, and I love learning about it. Spacetime slips are one facet of existence that fascinate me. As a retired teacher I enjoy researching this topic and sharing the information I garner.
This entry was posted in Back to the Past, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

