The Old Lady and the Teen

Many moons ago my interest in spacetime slips began with a Back to the Past TWIDDER as experienced by a vacationing couple in Anchorage, Alaska.  I stumbled across that account while searching through a library book of Alaskan ghost stories (I was compiling reports for a fun October English unit for my Fairbanks high schoolers).

Now, five years after retiring from teaching, it’s again October.  But some ole teacher habits die hard; last week I picked up a tome at the local Sandy, Oregon library entitled GHOST STORIES OF OREGON.  I’m having a blast reading of folks’ spooky experiences when I come across one that is most certainly NOT a ghost sighting, but most definitely a spacetime slip.  

The question is, did the teen go Back to the Past, or did the elderly lady come Forward to the Future???  What do you think?

The woman, who chose to remain anonymous, described her teen-aged year experience to author Susan Smitten  . . .

She was home alone, in her second-floor room when she heard footsteps coming up the stairs from the main floor.  She froze, thinking she was about to interrupt a burglar.  “I thought I was a goner,” she recalls.

Terrified, she frantically considered where she might hide until she saw the shadow of an older woman suddenly thrown into relief on the wall.  As if cast by someone lit from behind, the shadow revealed the shape of a woman with a severe dowager’s hunch, wearing a calf-length dress, a sweater and clunky shoes.  screen-shot-2016-10-02-at-5-20-18-pmHer hair was pulled back into a bun.

“As I saw her, she had her hand on the rail and took the last step to the top of the staircase.  She turned to look at me and jumped.  Then she ran off around the corner to my parents’ room.”

Needless to say, the teen found no one anywhere, either on the second or the main floor of the house.

I have to wonder if that elderly lady, who was obviously so startled by the appearance of a modern-day female adolescent in her home, ever shared her scary experience with family or friends back in her time!

About aloholmes

We live in a wondrous universe, and I love learning about it. Spacetime slips are one facet of existence that fascinate me. As a retired teacher I enjoy researching this topic and sharing the information I garner.
This entry was posted in Back to the Past, Fast Forward, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

