The Out-of-Time Soldier

A fellow who chooses to remain anonymous submitted the following Forward to the Future spacetime slip (at least it was for the British soldier from the 18th century)!  At the time of this TWIDDER, the modern-day gentleman was living in Savannah, Georgia.  (See Stephen Wagner’s About.com for the original posting.)

I lived just off Orleans Square.  One evening I had to meet some people at the Sentient Bean, which is a coffee house on the south side of Forsyth Park.  Being such a wonderful walking town (with great weather as well), it was common for many people to live, work and play in downtown without ever entering a car.  So I put my headphones on and prepared for a pleasant 30-minute walk, after which my reward would be a decent cup of coffee and some good fellowship.

Somewhere on the west side of town, before I was able to make it to Forsyth Park (the city is laid out in a grid-and-squares pattern, so one can just ramble and meander but still efficiently reach any destination), I was briskly walking on a sidewalk, head down, absorbed in music, nearing a perpendicularly intersecting sidewalk.

Suddenly, I got that “sixth sense” feeling that I was about to physically collide with someone.  redcoats-painting-f-cotes-pxt-1764-by-francis-cotes-1726-1770When I looked up and to my right, I was amazed to see a portly, bespectacled, gray-haired, red-coated British army officer, circa 1770.  We both stopped in our tracks (as continuing, we both would have surely run into each other).

I briefly looked at him, shocked from my music-induced trance, and it didn’t even register to me.  I work with the public, and as a result I am exceedingly polite as a natural reaction, so, I gracefully and theatrically waved my arm across my body without saying a word, indicating that the honor was his and I would wait for him to cross.  He grabbed the black felt tri-corner hat from his head, swept it wide across his breast, and deeply bowed far below his own waist.  I continued my walk as he remained bowed.

This entire encounter took place in less than a second, similar to “dancing” with a co-worker whose way you just can’t seem to get out of in a crowded hallway or aisle.  Only, when I looked over my left shoulder, a second or two later, he was gone.  The sidewalk he was walking on had a 6-foot-high stone wall bordering its entire length, meaning, he didn’t duck into a doorway or a garden.  He just vanished.

About aloholmes

We live in a wondrous universe, and I love learning about it. Spacetime slips are one facet of existence that fascinate me. As a retired teacher I enjoy researching this topic and sharing the information I garner.
This entry was posted in Fast Forward, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

