The Civil War Soldier

This was sometime in the middle of August, 2014. I remember it was a real warm night, so I thought I would take my pit bull out for a late night walk. I live in Sacramento, California  and in a neighborhood where Sacramento actually got it’s start. John Sutter founded Sacramento about four miles from the house.

As we were walking the same route we usually do, we turned a corner and I saw a man sitting on top of a horse facing the west while I was walking eastward toward this house, which is a house that really stands out: unkempt lawn, weeds growing, cars littering the driveway, and a backyard always dark.  And I have never seen anyone come or go from that house.

What also stands out from everything else is a huge oak tree that is at least two hundred to three hundred years old. As we got closer, I could see the color of the horse Screen shot 2015-05-14 at 7.25.00 AMand the man sitting atop the horse was still in the same position as I got closer and closer. The horse had a shiny black coat and was well groomed. And the man was wearing shiny black leather — so shiny I could see the moon’s reflection off it.

Now here’s where everything gets real interesting. I was only able to see the hind quarters of the horse, the combed black silky tail, the black leather riding boots, the clean powder blue of what looked like cavalry army pants from the 1800s, the nice thick brown saddle, the blue with gold or yellow out line saddle blanket that the saddle sits on, the rifle in the rifle holster on the side of the horse, and his canteen and bed roll.

I was stunned at what I was looking at, and it never moved as if it didn’t even realize I was there.

I immediately got the feeling that this was an army commander of some sort, and I basically enjoyed the site rather than being afraid.

As for my dog, I looked at her immediately to see if she’d react, being the aggressive pit bull protector that she was. But to my amazement, she was quiet, not her usual self, but as soon as we both walked in front of this paranormal experience, that’s when she suddenly turned aggressive and started snarling and growling, trying to pull me toward this.

On the way home, I kept thinking about how fortunate I was to have seen that and know the history of the neighborhood I live. But two days later would blow my mind for real.

For 50 years I have lived in and around the Sacramento area, but on this day I happened to be walking over to Sacramento City College about three miles from my house. As I crossed the busy street toward the Sacramento Zoo I noticed a huge granite stone, and written on it says: “Here on this site was Camp Union Sacramento est. 1860…” It was a kind of boot camp for newly enlisted soldiers for the Civil War, and the commander Bowie, the brother of the famous Bowie knife creator.

I immediately thought about the cavalry man and the horse. No doubt he was an officer just by the way he stood.

About aloholmes

We live in a wondrous universe, and I love learning about it. Spacetime slips are one facet of existence that fascinate me. As a retired teacher I enjoy researching this topic and sharing the information I garner.
This entry was posted in Back to the Past and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

