The Building

Rhyanna of Chicago, Illinois had a Back to the Past spacetime slip in wintery Chicago.  I wonder if she alone experienced this, or if other folks passing the exact same locale at the same time also wondered what had happened to the under-construction building.  And, I can’t help but agree with her that the universe does indeed have a unique sense of humor!  (See original posting at RealityShifters.com)

I was working in downtown Chicago at the beginning of this year.  In January, I went out at my lunch hour to walk to the drugstore.

On the way I passed the intersection of Franklin and Madison where a new building had been going up.  I recalled having seen the building under constructionimages two weeks earlier, when I’d walked down to meet my daughter for lunch.

As I glanced to see how the building was progressing, I was stunned to see that it was not there.  I stopped dead in my tracks, and gazed at the empty lot that stood where the construction site had been just two weeks ago.

There is a parking lot at Franklin and Monroe, so I checked the street signs and looked around, and then decided I must be either having a reality shift or losing my grip.  I know it’s not a wise thing to stop dead on a busy Chicago street, but I felt the building being gone was a good reason to do so.

In late February I once again walked down Franklin to meet my daughter for lunch, and looked to see the empty lot—and lo and behold there was the building again—getting very, very tall!

Sometimes I think the universe has a very warped sense of humor.

About aloholmes

We live in a wondrous universe, and I love learning about it. Spacetime slips are one facet of existence that fascinate me. As a retired teacher I enjoy researching this topic and sharing the information I garner.
This entry was posted in Back to the Past and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

