A Brush with a Fellow from the Past

Philip J. Imbrogno, author of Files from the Edge, records the experience of a twenty-first century acquaintance and his joint TWIDDER with a fellow from the eighteenth century.  So, I’ll call this a Back to the Past TWIDDER for Imbrogno’s experiencer.  But was it?  Or would it be more accurate to categorize it as a Forward to the Future spacetime slip for the from-the-past fellow?  (See pp. 248-9.)

It was February 2006 and at about seven or so, I decided to take a walk out in the cold night air after dinner.  I live near the reservoir in Kent Cliffs and in February, it’s frozen solid and safe for walking.  I took a flashlight with me and headed out.  The night was clear with a bright moon and the stars were flickering in the sky; it was quite beautiful despite the eight-degrees-above-zero temperature.

I shined the light ahead of me and saw someone walking toward me; it was still in the distance so all I saw was a shape.  As it approached, it looked like the air around it was distorted, like looking through heat waves.  As the figure got closer, it became clearer and that’s when I noticed it was a man, but he was dressed in strange clothes.  images-1He had long hair in a pigtail and was wearing old clothes, like from the eighteenth century.

What I thought was really strange was that he wasn’t wearing a coat and didn’t seem to be affected by the cold.  We got closer to each other and he started looking at me like I was out of place.

We both stopped and I said, “How you doing?”  He replied, “Good day, sir.  Are you a resident of this town?”  I said, “Yeah I am.  Where do you live?  Are you going to a costume party?”  He replied, “Excuse me sir, YOU are the one in a costume, not me.”

I asked him how he could be walking on the ice on this cold winter night without a coat.  He looked at me very strangely and asked me what I meant, saying that this was not a body of frozen water, but a field and it was a warm July night.  He looked at me like I was some kind of freak, ran away, and vanished into the dark.

About aloholmes

We live in a wondrous universe, and I love learning about it. Spacetime slips are one facet of existence that fascinate me. As a retired teacher I enjoy researching this topic and sharing the information I garner.
This entry was posted in Back to the Past, Forward to the Future and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

