A Carriage Back in Time

John Billingsley of Mytholmroyd, United Kingdom posted a Back to the Past spacetime slip to Cynthia Larson’s wonderful realityshifters website.  His girlfriend had the great good fortune to be with him on this TWIDDER.

When I was 19 (1971) my girlfriend, Jenny, and I were on the London Underground–the Metropolitan Line, Screen shot 2014-12-30 at 7.21.15 AMtravelling back home from Euston Square to Ladbroke Grove.

We were chatting away as we got on to the train and sat down.  At some point, perhaps the train stopping at Great Portland Street, we looked up and around ourselves.

The carriage was a bit different from usual; the brushed steel and white paint decor, with looped hanging straps, was absent.  Instead, there were enamel-painted rails and grubby cream paintwork, hanging straps that ended in little balls.

There were still some old rolling stock on the Tube at that time; but what struck us as most odd on that Saturday evening was that the carriage was empty apart from ourselves and an older couple at the far end of the carriage, and they were staring hard at us.

We certainly looked different from them; as good self-respecting hippies, we had colourful flares and tops on, and my hair was on its way to my waist.  They, on the other hand, with his narrow clipped moustache, hat and brown suit and her overcoat, were dressed more in keeping with the decor of the carriage–late 1940’s or 50’s!

We joked about being in a timeslip, not taking it that seriously, but still we felt uncomfortable, like interlopers, and when the train pulled into Baker Street, we got up and moved into the next carriage.

For some reason we didn’t look at the adverts above the windows; perhaps we didn’t want to, or perhaps we just didn’t take it all seriously enough.  Anyway, the train filled up at Baker Street, and when we looked back into our previous car from the adjacent one, it was full of people, and we couldn’t see the ‘old-timers’ at the far end.  Indeed, the carriage now looked perfectly normal.  And we got on with our lives without thinking much more about it.

About aloholmes

We live in a wondrous universe, and I love learning about it. Spacetime slips are one facet of existence that fascinate me. As a retired teacher I enjoy researching this topic and sharing the information I garner.
This entry was posted in Back to the Past and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Carriage Back in Time

  1. A Carriage Back in Time: I find this quite fascinating and simply but very graphically told. I feel a close sympathy with John Billigsley. He writes as if he were a published author so this could be a true story or not. I have an instinctive feeling that this is all true. I also have had similar experiences. The London Underground, by the way, is one of the spookiest places in the U.K.

    • aloholmes says:

      Terry, you’re right; Mr. B. does write well, and like you, I also think that what he wrote about he truly experienced. Some day I truly hope to experience the London Underground; had no idea it was such a spooky place!

  2. Judy Dickinson says:

    Thank you for sharing these time slips. They truly are fascinating.

  3. Steve says:

    I’ve been a collector of these stories myself now for a number of years and there is a lot of timeslip incidents happen in or around train stations and undergrounds,infact a major hotspot for this activity is Bold Street in Liverpool quite often entered around the exit from Central station on to the street.I believe that the massive circulating currents present in these areas are generating massive electromagnetic fields which are affecting our perception of reality.To fully understand this we need to understand the nature of reality itself,can we access the. Past? The future? Or is time happening all at once and under the above conditions can we access different parts of it? It’s not easy but we need to change the way we perceive time because it doesn’t really exist.

    • aloholmes says:

      I second all you’ve said. “Time” is a convenient concept here in mortality that we use to track change. And I’m often struck by the role electrically charged environments play in a person experiencing a spacetime slip. I’ve wondered if certain locations—for whatever reason—continue to facilitate spacetime slips; what you note is VERY interesting! Thanks for your important thoughts.

      • steve says:

        Thankyou for your reply I’ve spent alot of time today on your forum! Its a brilliant collection.
        Something else I thought of it would be interesting(but probably an impossible task) to know the exact years of when these timeslips happen,for the reason that our planet has an 11yr sun cycle at the peak of which there is an increase in sunspots,which greatly affects solar electromagnetics(affects radio etc) I only know this because I’m a radio Ham!
        anyhow its great to meet other people who have an interest in this fascinating subject of timeslips etc.
        thanks
        regards
        Steve

      • aloholmes says:

        Steve, your idea of tracking WHEN folks experience a spacetime slip is absolutely inspired! I try to always include what month and year an encounter took place; often the experiencer doesn’t note it. But with your idea in mind, I’ll now be doubly careful to try to include at the very least a year for the TWIDDER. Am so glad you’re enjoying my blog; I have a lot of fun exploring sources for time slips and truly enjoy sharing them. There’s a button on the intro page of my blog where you can opt in to have email notices when I post a new spacetime slip. You might want to sign up for that. I try to post one a week, although—like in April when I was in North Pole, Alaska for two weeks caring for grandkids—the blog goes on hiatus! Keep sharing those interesting thoughts! –Anita

  4. Steve says:

    Thanks Anita I’ll certainly add my email for notices.Found myself reading some of the stories yet again!Not get much work done this weekend….thanks Steve.

Leave a Reply

