Fast Trip on the Freeway

A dazed Alijandra (http://www.colorhealing.com) experienced a Fast Forward spacetime slip along a California freeway.  (See Reality Shifters.)

One afternoon rush hour on my way back from work several years ago, I was traveling on Freeway 280 in the downtown San Jose, California area.  I was singing along to a cassette tape playing Maureen McGovern’s “Can You Read My Mind?” from the Superman soundtrack; it’s a three minute song.  As I sang along with Maureen, I was thinking of Saint Germain (since he does fit the Superman image, and reads minds too!), I glanced at the clock and it was 4:42 PM.  I planned to go to my bank on Montague, an exit off of Freeway 680.  280 turns into 680 after the Freeway 101 interchange.

About half-way through the song, I remember blinking, feeling a moment’s disorientation, and seeing Highway 237 as I passed by it.  My first thought was, “When did they put another entrance to Highway 237 in?”  My second thought was, “Don’t be silly there is no 237 where 101 should be!”  My next thought was, “This really is 237 and I just passed my turnoff two exits back.”  I glanced down at the clock and it was still 4:42 PM, and the song was still playing.  I got off at the next exit, Jacklin Road, then back on Freeway 680.

I was approximately seven miles farther down the road than where I had been a few seconds earlier!images

I have ruled out the theory of missing time because there was no time missed.  Even if the clock had stopped (which it hadn’t), the song on the tape was still playing.  It had not been rewound by me, or stopped and started again.

What I realized happened was a classic teleportation—car and all.  No easy feat I would think, as it was a crowded freeway.  I can’t imagine what synchronized timing it must have taken to me sure that my car and I didn’t land on another car!  Or what drivers near me on both ends of the equation must have wondered about their sanity if suddenly the car in front of them isn’t there, or when a vehicle suddenly materializes in front of you.

One could hope for them that they were sufficiently blunted by the work day’s events that they didn’t notice a thing!

About aloholmes

We live in a wondrous universe, and I love learning about it. Spacetime slips are one facet of existence that fascinate me. As a retired teacher I enjoy researching this topic and sharing the information I garner.
This entry was posted in Fast Forward and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

