The Front Page

Cordelia, of Hollywood, California, had a brush with a Forward to the Future spacetime slip when she read a front-page-headline three days before it was actually published. 

I had to take a trip by car, and was gone about a week. When I got back to town on August 31, I stopped at a drug store where inside by the front door they have a newspaper rack displaying different newspapers. On my way out of the store, I glanced at the front page of the newspaper on the top of the top rack. It was a big story, big headline, big photo. Screen shot 2014-05-28 at 7.15.41 AMI didn’t read anything other than the sub headline. It basically said TVs and computers are being combined into some kind of social networking and gaming platform and Apple intends to lead the way in this through some hand held device they’ve invented.

That evening I told somebody about the story. We talked about it for a few minutes. He hadn’t seen the story, though he does subscribe to that paper… but not the Saturday edition. I told him then probably it was the previous Saturday’s edition that I’d seen on the rack. It was unusual that an old issue would be on the top rack but it happens now and then. Any number of mundane reasons can explain why. In any case it wasn’t important.

Three days later, I saw the newspaper in the kitchen on my friend’s table. It has the exact front page, big headline, sub header, story, and photo I’d seen on August 31 at the drug store. But the date on this issue is Thurs Sep 2 2010. First, I asked my friend if he remembered us discussing a few days ago TVs/computers and a report about them in the newspaper. He confirmed he did remember, with details. Next I call the newspaper, and ask for the people who do the “front page”. The man I got was authoritative about the Sep 2 front page. He said “definitely not” to my question of whether this article was run previously, like within the last seven days or so, because I saw it on a newspaper rack at the CVS store on August 31. He said the only part of the article that might have appeared on any date earlier than Thursday September 2, 2010 is the photo of Steve Jobs. And if that were the case it would clearly say “Archive” under the photo. He said obviously this is not an archive photo because it’s showing Jobs “unveiling” on Wed September 1, the miniaturized and cheaper new Apple TV.

About aloholmes

We live in a wondrous universe, and I love learning about it. Spacetime slips are one facet of existence that fascinate me. As a retired teacher I enjoy researching this topic and sharing the information I garner.
This entry was posted in Forward to the Future and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

