The Body

Yuri Ivanov had an Alternate Reality TWIDDER in the late 1990’s. It involved an evening news report of discovery of Captain Lawrence Oates’ body in Antarctica. Oates was part of Robert Scott’s doomed race to the South Pole in 1912. After reaching the pole—only to find that Norwegian Roald Amundsen’s team had beat them—the Britishers trudged back to their base camp, all ultimately perishing.  Afflicted with gangrene and frost bite, one evening Oates left the party’s tent and perished in a 40 degree below zero blizzard.

Yuri writes, “The most disturbing TWIDDER was when I was watching the evening news on TV in the late 1990’s. Some explorers had found Captain Oates’ body frozen under the ice in the south pole.

“A search party had found Scott’s party, all frozen dead in a tent. Captain Oates was missing. Scott recorded in his diary (he was the last to die) that Oates had left the tent to go outside. He never came back.images

“I saw on TV Oates’ body under the ice. Then a while later in the evening news on TV (weeks later), I saw four naval sailors carrying Oates’ coffin draped in the flag of the United Kingdom, walking slowly down the gangplank from a British naval ship. Next, a second later, I saw Oates being buried in a church graveyard with naval sailors giving him a salute by firing a volley of shots in to the air from their rifles, like you see in military funerals.

“Some time in the mid 2000’s, I had a sudden urge to look up Captain Oates on Wikipedia (I had bought a PC and came online in 1999). There is no record of Captain Oates ever having been found! Yet I saw and heard the above on TV news back in 1997-1998! I assure you I’m quite sane.”

About aloholmes

We live in a wondrous universe, and I love learning about it. Spacetime slips are one facet of existence that fascinate me. As a retired teacher I enjoy researching this topic and sharing the information I garner.
This entry was posted in Alternate Reality and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

