Wrong Road

The concerned wife in the following Alternate Reality—or possibly Lost Location— TWIDDER found herself, in the blink of any eye, at a different location.  (See http://paranormal.about.com/od/timeanddimensiontravel/a/tales_10_12_27t.htm.)

My true story took place in October, 2010.  My husband just had triple bypass surgery, and after being discharged from the hospital, he spent the next ten days in a facility for cardiac rehab.  The facility is situated on a lonely country road in Berkshire County, Massachusetts.
One night when I left the facility, it was already dark, so I took the main route back instead of the shortcut, because I don’t like to travel those dark roads alone.  I passed Williams College, the Willlows Motel, Subway, and all the local businesses on this route, and was just crossing into the city of North Adams, when it seemed like everything went black.  The bright lights of the town had vanished, but I very quickly realized that the road had narrowed considerably and imageshad become winding instead of straight.
Suddenly, I was crossing a tiny bridge and realized that I was not where I should be at all—and I had no explanation for it.  One minute I was traveling on the main route which I have traveled all of my life and know it well; the next minute I was on a narrow country road with not a clue as to why I was there or how I got there.
This happened in the blink of an eye.  I began talking to myself out loud, saying things like, “What the he*! is going on, and where the he*! am I?” I repeated these questions out loud over and over, with my heart pounding, and nothing making sense to me, but I kept driving because I was too frightened to do anything else.
When I got to the end of whatever lonely, narrow, winding road I was on, I looked up and saw a street sign.  It said, “Gale Rd.” and I now realized that I was going to come out almost back where I had started from, except that the road I was on would come out at the shortcut that I didn’t take that night, because it was too late and too dark out.  Now I had no choice.
I drove the shortcut route and ended up back in the center of Williamstown.  I had to once again pass by Williams College, the Willows Motel, Subway, etc., then to North Adams.  None of this makes sense to me but it did happen.
Also, when I reached my destination (my home in Adams, Mass.), it hadn’t taken me any longer to get there than any other time. My husband said he would call me in a half hour.  He knows that it takes 25 minutes to get home and I was home when he called.
It should have taken nearly double the amount of time to get home since it appears that I drove both routes home that night, one after the other.  I don’t know what happened to me that night.
All I know is that in the blink of an eye, I was approximately five miles back where I started from on a road that I know I never would have taken on a dark night.  I will never drive alone at night again.  It’s only been a few days, and the thought sends shivers down my spine.

About aloholmes

We live in a wondrous universe, and I love learning about it. Spacetime slips are one facet of existence that fascinate me. As a retired teacher I enjoy researching this topic and sharing the information I garner.
This entry was posted in Alternate Reality, Lost Locations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

