The Khaki Trousers

To quote from my book, TWIDDERS,  “In 1842 Joseph Buchanan coined the term “psychometry.”  He believed that all things give off an emanation.  He wrote, ‘The past is entombed in the present, the world is its own enduring monument; . . . ‘
    “He theorized that a person with enough sensitivity could hold an object in their hands and obtain paranormal information about the object or its owner.  In the case of a researcher hoping for a TWIDDER, they are seeking an actual trip to the object’s past.”
The following brief account of a Back to the Past spacetime slip sure appears to have been triggered by a pair of pants.

The following letter by J Truman of Calcarra, Western Australia appeared in the Western Mail on 1 August 1946. The author relates a bizarre experience in which he is apparently transported through space and time after pulling on a pair of second hand khaki army trousers.
“Having served in many parts of the Empire and have seen many strange happenings, beyond my limited comprehension, I have always been partial to khaki, having worn it for more years than I sometimes care to remember. So there was nothing strange in my going into an Army surplus store and purchasing, amongst other goods, a pair of second hand khaki trousers.
“The first time I put them on was a Saturday night, and a feeling came over me which would be hard to describe. I had a restless night and on Sunday morning I put the same trousers on again, picked up my haversack and rifle. As I was walking across the paddocks, the heavy fog seemed to become more intense. Suddenly I found myself in a jungle. In front of me was a young Australian soldier, advancing along the trail, tommy-gun at the ready.images
“Then I spotted a Jap sniper in the tallest tree on the right side of the trail taking aim, I yelled a warning to the Aussie but too late he lay dead on the trail.
“My yell frightened sheep and lambs in all directions and I felt a great fool yet it was just as though I had been there with him. I examined the trousers carefully when I arrived back at the homestead, and found what appeared to be blood stains on them. I suppose there is an explanation somewhere but the experience has got me beat.”
J. TRUMAN (Calcarra)

About aloholmes

We live in a wondrous universe, and I love learning about it. Spacetime slips are one facet of existence that fascinate me. As a retired teacher I enjoy researching this topic and sharing the information I garner.
This entry was posted in Back to the Past and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

