The Disappearing Customer

A number of years ago Mooncrow worked for a popular clothing store in her home town.  Read on for another Alternate Reality spacetime-slip.
“I was nineteen and out of school, so I usually had to work the awkward schedule as I was more flexible.  Now, to fully understand this story, you have to know the layout of our store.  There was a Missy side and a Plus side with a partition in between.  There were two ramps, one on either side of the partition, leading from Missy down to Plus.
“While there were doors from the outside for either department, the Plus side was always locked as we were generally understaffed.
“One night, I was sent to the Plus side for what was promising to be a very slow night.  I settled in and started folding sweaters at the front desk, from which I could see both ramps and the locked front door completely.
“Behind me was the door to the shipment room.  A woman came down the ramp and I said, ‘Hello,’ and promised to help her in a moment.  She caught my eye especially because of her bright purple coat with large toggle buttons.images
“She walked past me with a small smile and headed to the corner closest to me, but around a very short wall.  I set my sweater aside, which took maybe half a second, and hurried to find out if I could be of assistance.  She was gone.
“I looked all over my side of the store but she was nowhere.  There were no customers at all.  I went up the ramp and asked my manager and her assistant if they had seen her.  They said no one had been through the doors in the last half hour.
“I blinked at them and described the woman as I remembered her.  They hadn’t seen her.  Reluctantly, I went back to my post down the ramp.  To this day, I have no idea where the woman went or if she was even real.”

About aloholmes

We live in a wondrous universe, and I love learning about it. Spacetime slips are one facet of existence that fascinate me. As a retired teacher I enjoy researching this topic and sharing the information I garner.
This entry was posted in Alternate Reality and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

