The Hole in the Bed

Pearl Nestor writes about a Lost Locations TWIDDER from her childhood.  In 1962, when she was five and her brother four, they shared a bedroom.  It was one of only two bedrooms in the small trailer they were living in in Brillion, Wisconsin.  She says, “I swear this is not a dream.  I could tell even at that age the difference between dreams and actual events, however strange they might be. ”  (Original post at http://paranormal.about.com/od/timeanddimensiontravel/a/tales_11_03_20t.htm.)
“I woke up early around 5:00 a.m.  It was starting to rain outside.  I remember standing on the bed on my tip toes trying to look out the window.  Just as I turned around, this hole was forming in the middle of my bed!
“I was too young to be scared, only curious.  At first, it was like a swirly, ripply kind of vortex. Then it became a hole, a REAL hole!  Being curious, I naturally peered in.  The hole wasn’t black and was lit from within, about the same dimensions as a manhole.  It even looked like one with a ladder that went around, metal hand rungs and everything.
“I could hear faintly some noises like a bunch of machinery running and a great hum.  It even vibrated the bed slightly.  I decided to climb into the hole and went probably about 20 steps down the ladder.  As I descended, the noise got louder—almost ear splitting.  As I descended further I saw a huge factory.
“I had a bird’s eye view from the ceiling of the warehouse/factory.  Men were working on what looked like engines of some sort.  All of the workers were men, and they were all dressed in dark blue shirts and some in dark blue coveralls.  The walls were concrete blocks painted green with long, narrow windows that trimmed the top of the walls.
“The noise was horrible and everyone was shouting to be heard over the din.  The noise was so bad I could only stand it for about a minute and went back up the ladder.  After I climbed out, I tried to wake my brother, but I couldn’t get him up.  I wanted him to watch me as I went back down the hole.  The hole was still there and I knew this was not a normal experience, so in order to satisfy my sanity I went down the hole again hoping to make sense of this.
“Same thing again, workers in blue and loud engines being built and tested.  I stayed this time for as long as I could, about three minutes or so and just watched the men work.  No one seemed to notice me.  For some reason, I started to get scared and thought if the hole closed up I wouldn’t be able to get back.  I climbed back up, and just in time, because the hole just vanished as soon as I came back out.
“It never made a sound vanishing, no vortex like when it first formed, it was just not there anymore.  I was sort of disappointed that what I saw was just a bunch of guys working on some boring engines.  You would think if you found an amazing hole in the middle of your bed there might be something more interesting to see!”

About aloholmes

We live in a wondrous universe, and I love learning about it. Spacetime slips are one facet of existence that fascinate me. As a retired teacher I enjoy researching this topic and sharing the information I garner.
This entry was posted in Lost Locations, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Hole in the Bed

  1. Pearl Nestor says:

    I am pleased that my story is reaching the breadth of the internet. This is a true account as I remember it as a five year old child. It’s one of those strange experiences from childhood that can never be explained, I am quite sure that other’s have equally strange occurrences that have peppered their childhood and can have no explanation for it, except that it “is”. I accept the “is”. It is truly a big wonderful world/universe. I also think that as children that we are more brave to explore new things, if this happened to me at 15 or 20 I would have ran out of the room screaming. I chose to explore and because of that I had an extraordinary experience. Trying to write and recall the feelings and experiences of a five year old , I know I was more concerned (at that time) with what I saw more than with what actually happened. I know I was disappointed with what I explored, it seemed so mundane, that’s the five year old talking. If this happened to me tomorrow and it brought me to Walmart, I’d be so much more amazed that a hole like that could even exist! That’s the difference between being five and fifty five. Only thing I know is that I am no wiser than anyone in explaining this experience. Thank you for listening to my story.

    • aloholmes says:

      Pearl, what a pleasure to find your comment! I often come across young-child-accounts that may be spacetime slips, but am leery. However, your account just struck me as SO sincere, and so amazing. I have to say that when I first read your experience, I was worried that you or your brother were going to go down that ladder and decide to stay in that alternate reality/lost location. As a mother and grandmother, boy was I glad that you skittered back up to your bedroom! Thank you so much for having the courage to share this account! –Anita

Leave a Reply

