SWITCHING LOCATION FOR A SONIC DRIVE-IN

NOTE:  Is Stacey R.’s experience  a Lost Location or an Alternate Reality TWIDDER?  (Original posting at http://paranormal.about.com/od/timeanddimensiontravel/a/tales_11_07_20t.htm)

One year when I was in college (2003, I believe), I lived by myself in a small apartment just off of Glenstone in Springfield, Missouri. Glenstone is also knows as Business 65 and is a major street through town, crowded with businesses and restaurants.
I want to point out that even before I moved to Springfield, I was familiar with the town. My family has lived in the area my entire life and my father also lived in Springfield when he went to college.
All I know is that one day, Sonic moved. I ate there often, and for the first half of the year, it was on the west side of Glenstone, a few blocks from my apartment. Then one night, driving up Glenstone, I simply couldn’t find it. I turned around and headed back toward home, thinking I might have missed it somehow, but I made it all the way back to my street without any luck.
I knew there was a Sonic there somewhere, by George, so I turned around again and drove back up Glenstone. Eventually, I did find it; it was just on the other side of the road from where it had always been. Oh well, I thought, maybe I’m just going crazy. Or who knows, maybe something peculiar really was going on, but who was I to question the mysteries of fast food? At any rate, Sonic seems to have made up its mind and continues to be on the east side of the road to this day.
Then a few years after Sonic relocated itself, I was flying home into the Springfield airport, and my dad had to come to town to pick me up. I generally fly at odd hours because it’s cheaper and it happened to be very late at night. It’s become tradition for us to stop somewhere for fast food after he picks me up at the airport after a long trip.
Not a lot was open at that hour, so we decided on the glorious 24-hour Sonic and made our way down Glenstone. I didn’t give it a lot of thought, because by now I had gotten used to the idea of Sonic being on the east side of the street when dad suddenly veered the car across the lanes and missed the turn. Turning the car around in some parking lot, he sort of giggled and said, “Didn’t Sonic used to be on the other side of the road?”
I just said, “Yeah, I think so.” Maybe someone knows more than I do and can tell me that yes, there really was another Sonic on the west side of N. Glenstone and that, yes, they decided to tear it down and build another one on the east side a little farther north of where the old one was — and yes, fast food restaurants can be built in a matter of days. I don’t know.

About aloholmes

We live in a wondrous universe, and I love learning about it. Spacetime slips are one facet of existence that fascinate me. As a retired teacher I enjoy researching this topic and sharing the information I garner.
This entry was posted in Alternate Reality and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

